See a map

"To Glorify God, Make Disciples, Meet Human Needs"

Atascocita Presbyterian Church

A PC-USA and an Earth Care Congregation

View our Facebook feed

How to find us...


Our Facebook feed...

Cub Scout Pack 1942

Cub Scout Pack 1942 meets every Thursday at 6:30pm in the Fellowship Hall. Volunteers are welcome to assist in a number of positions. Please contact Jennifer Salisbury, email

The Cub Scout Program

Cub Scouting is part of the Scouting program of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA), available to boys and girls from kindergarten through fifth grade, or 5 to 10 years of age and their families. Its membership is the largest of the five main BSA divisions (Cub Scouting, Scouts BSA, Venturing, Exploring and Sea Scouting). Cub Scouting is part of the worldwide Scouting movement and aims to promote character development, citizenship training, personal fitness, and leadership.

Aims, Methods, and Purposes of Cub Scouting

(excerpted from

The Aims of Cub Scouting are the same as the other divisions of Scouting—-character, citizenship, personal fitness, and leadership.

The Methods of Cub Scouting

The Purposes of Cub Scouting are

Ideals of Cub Scouting

(excerpted from

On June 1, 2015, the Cub Scout Promise and the Law of the Pack were retired and replaced by the Scout Oath and Scout Law. The Cub Scout Motto continues to be used.

Scout Oath - "On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; To help other people at all times; To keep myself physically strong mentally awake, and morally straight."

Scout Law - "A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful. thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent."

Cub Scout Motto - "Do Your Best"

The Cub Scout sign - Two raised fingers of the right hand, identifies the youth as a Cub Scout and the two fingers stand for the Scout Oath and Law. The Cub Scout salute, two fingers of the right hand raised to the edge of the cap or eyebrow, is used to show respect for the country when saluting the flag of the United States. The Cub Scout handshake, first two fingers along the inside of the other Scout’s wrist, is used to help each other remember and obey the Scout Oath and Law.

Advancement and Recognition

(excerpted from

Advancement is one of the methods used to promote the aims of character development, citizenship training, personal fitness, and leadership. Everything a Cub Scout does in the advancement program is intended to achieve these aims and aid in personal growth. On June 1, 2015, Cub Scouting changed the advancement system to an "adventure" system, including required and elective adventures for all ranks. Lion, Tiger, Wolf, and Bear Cubs earn activity belt loops for each completed adventure, while Webelos earn activity pins which can be worn on the cap or on the Webelos colors.[16][17]

Lion badge - Kindergartners work toward the Lion badge. The Lion badge is earned by completing five adventures. Outside of the requirements, Lion Scouts can also complete any number of seven elective adventures of their den’s or family’s choosing. Lions do not earn the Bobcat badge. This is a new rank for Cub Scouts introduced in 2018.

Bobcat badge - All youth beginning in first grade will first work on their Bobcat badge to complete the Cub Scout joining requirements, which include knowing and reciting the Scout Oath and Scout Law and knowing the Cub Scout motto and salute. Once the Bobcat badge requirements have been completed, the Cub Scout will continue with the age appropriate program.

Tiger, Wolf, and Bear badges - Cub Scouts in first-grade work toward the Tiger badge, while those in second-grade work toward the Wolf badge, and those in third-grade work toward the Bear badge. Cub Scouts at all three levels must complete six required adventures and one of thirteen elective adventures with their den or family, as well as completing age-specific cyber-safety exercises (called the Cyber Chip) and exercises to help prevent child abuse with their family. The Cyber Chip and abuse prevention requirements must be completed annually, although the Cyber Chip may be waived if the family does not have internet access at home or otherwise readily available. The remaining elective adventures may be completed throughout the rest of the school year.

Webelos Scouts - Cub Scouts in fourth and fifth grades work toward the Webelos (pronounced "wee-buh-lohs" as the singular as well as the plural, the word originally was an acronym for the previous, now discontinued hierarchy Wolf/Bear/Lion/Scout with vowels added, and is now said to be short for "WE’ll BE LOyal Scouts"). Initially, Webelos work toward the Webelos badge and Arrow of Light.[23] A Cub Scout may begin work toward the Arrow of Light only after earning the Webelos badge; however, a new Cub Scout first joining a pack while in fifth grade may immediately begin working toward the Arrow of Light.

Webelos Scout badge - To earn the Webelos Scout badge, the Cub Scout must complete five required adventures, two of eighteen elective adventures, and the Cyber Chip and child abuse prevention exercises. As with previous years, the Cyber Chip can be waived if the family does not have easy access to the internet. Webelos Scouts wearing the blue Cub Scout uniform wear a Webelos badge of the same size and shape as the previous ranks, and can be placed on the uniform where the Tiger Cub badge goes; Webelos Scouts wearing the tan Scout shirt wear an oval-shaped Webelos badge, which is the same size as the Scout rank badges.

Arrow of Light - The Arrow of Light award is the highest rank award available to Cub Scouts. To earn the Arrow of Light, the Cub Scout must complete four required adventures, three of eighteen elective adventures, and the Cyber Chip and child abuse prevention exercises. The Cyber Chip exercises can be waived if the family does not have easy access to the internet. Earning the Arrow of Light allows a youth to join a Scout troop prior at ten years of age instead of eleven. The requirements for the Arrow of Light overlap significantly with the requirements for the first rank in Scouts BSA, the Scout rank. Recipients of the Arrow of Light thus have an advantage in earning the Scout rank soon after joining a Scout troop. The Arrow of Light award is one of the few Cub Scout awards that can be worn on a Scout uniform. Both Cub Scouts and Scouts wear the Arrow of Light badge below the left pocket. Adults wear the square-knot version of the badge above the left pocket.